The 2016 to do list


 

  1. Travel to places I haven’t been to. Reykjavík, Berlin, London, Paris … I love them so much that I want to go back all the time. But that also means that I sometimes ‘forget’ to discover new places. We already booked a trip to Turin (chocolate, Egyptian museum!), so that’s a start.
  2. Write more posts for  my travel blog. Which means developping a writing habit. The problem is that I am often fed up with writing after a day of writing articles. But I get a lot of visitors on the blog. Especially my Iceland posts are popular, so I need to get working on them.
  3. Get better at taking pictures.
  4. Develop signature desserts. My friend Elly set me a goal. I have to publish a cookbook before I am fifty. That gives me 15 more years, but I should make a start.
  5. Learn to draw. Or something like that. Scrapbooking, making collages, whatever. Develop my own style to illustrate blog posts, gift tags … I love cooks who do this eg. Rachel Khoo’s drawings and Gizzi Erskine’s Instagrampics.
  6. Make DIY presents for Christmas. I meant to this already this year, but I didn’t have time in November and December. Plenty of ideas though.
  7. Make a weekly blog post with positive and/or interesting things. Last year I started resisting clickbait. You never guess what happened next. OOPS SORRY. I started reading  more interesting articles. We also got ourselves a subsscription at De Correspondent, a Dutch website that proves good journalism is still possible. So I decided I should share more nof the good stuff.
  8.  Move more. Whenever I go through a stressful time, my back blocks. So I have to reach my daily goal of 10 000 steps.
  9. Have dinner at The Jane, Sergio Herman’s restaurant in Antwerp.
  10. There has to be a proper food challenge of course. Immerse myself in Maltese, Georgian, Russian, Swiss and Dutch cuisine. Why? Because we have the craziest Eurovision party coming up. We were assigned six countries and are going to have a tapas and booze night. I have these five countries and the UK.
  11. Read 40 books. I read 35 books in 2015. I didn’t make it due to some crazy months at work.
  • Nana (Emile Zola)
  • The devil’s pool (George Sand)
  • The physiology of Marriage (Balzac)
  • Ulysses (James Joyce – finish it at last)
  • Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger)
  • The philosopher’s stone – JK Rowling (in Icelandic)
  • The Cathedral of the Sea (Ildefenso Falcones)
  • Kentering van een huwelijk (Sandor Marai)
  • Three female portaits (Daphne du Maurier)
  • Edda
  • Godenslaap (Erwin Mortier)
  • De Kapellekensbaan (Louis Paul Boon)
  • Lucrezia Borgia (Sarah Bradford)
  • De Kracht van het Paradijs (Jonathan Holsslag)
  • In Europa (Geert Mak)
  • De Groote Oorlog (Sophie De Schaepdrijver)
  • Kafka on the Shore (Murakami)
  • The tenant of Wildfell (Anne Bronte)
  • The professor (Charlotte Bronte)
  • Stoner (John Williams)
  • Vaders en zonen (Ivan Turgenev)
  • Tropic of Cancer (Heny Miller)
  • Hadzji Moerat (Leo Tolstoy)
  • What I talk about when I talk about running (Haruki Murakami)
  • Tender is the night (F. Scott Fitzgerald)
  • Calamiteitenleer voor gevorderden (Marisha Pessl)
  • Tongkat (Peter Verhelst)
  • De opdracht (Wessel Te Gussinklo)
  • Publieke Werken (Thomas Roosenboom)
  • Measure for measure (Shakespeare)
  • The tempest (Shakespeare)
  • Post Mortem (Peter Terrin)
  • Vesalius (Joris Tulkens)
  • Verzameld werk (Willem Elsschot)
  • Complete Works of Oscar Wilde
  • Middlemarch (George Elliot)
  • The mysteries of Udolpho (Ann Radcliffe)
  • 3 extra non-fiction books
Leave a Reply

