2015 is here and so is my to do list …


Party2015 is almost two weeks old, so it’s about time that I write my annual to do list. It has already been a busy year: my friend Elly was visiting us for five days, which was amazing. The day before New Year’s Eve was full of cakes, curryworst, gin tonic and games. Greet and Rein came by so we had a little after-wedding reunion. We hosted the New Year’s Eve party so I had to do a lot of cleaning up afterwards. It was a lovely evening with a lot of lovely food, laughter, booze and most of all: a lot of lovely friends. Some of them even stayed over, so we could start the year with a lovely chocolate fudge cake brunch. Sooo, there was no time to write this blog post 🙂

The 2015 list

1. Follow the Brontë sisters’ trail. I love the Brontë sisters’ books. My friend Elly lives in the area where they used to live, near Bradford and I promised her I will finally visit her. Emily and Charlotte lived in Brussels as well. They worked at a pensionnat in the neighbourhood of Bozar. Charlotte’s time there led to Villette and The Professor. Time to discover how my capital inspired some of my favourite writers.

2. Resist clickbait.

I should stop reading stuff at the internet with juicy titles and shitty content. We all should. It’s a waste of time.

3. Walk between penguins with Kristof’s godchild Lotte.

We’re taking the little one to Planckendael, as we should introduce her to the wildebeasts, both her father’s and godfather’s favourite animal. But since last year you can also walk between penguins in Planckendael. My husband insists on me wearing black and white. To be continued.

4. Have dinner at a Michelin star restaurant.

5. Do a little DIY-project every week. It can be anything: making my own limoncello or a bookcase, redecorating a room, crazy lifehacks … I hope to blog about it regularly.

6. Little blog project for which I didn’t have time last year: visit twelve Belgian cities one would normally not visit. To boldly go where no one wants to go. To cities with a bad or a boring reputation. My friend Rein and I already spent a fun day in Bergen last year, the city of our prime minister. It was my French friend Cecil who gave me the idea. She was very enthusiastic about Kortrijk, a city that doesn’t appeal at all to me. Her story and adventure made me want to visit it after all. Other possibilities: Tienen, Aarschot, Aalst, Genk, Turnhout, Herentals, Liège, Arlon, Charleroi, Eupen.

7. Cook vegetarian more often. This is a New Year’s resolution of my husband who has fallen in love with Yotam Ottolenghi’s cook book Plenty. He is finally convinced that vegetarian doesn’t have to be boring. Hurray!

8. Buy more biological and ethical things.

9. Keep on swimming. I didn’t start yoga last year, but due to back problems I took up swimming again. Trying to get to the swimming pool twice a week. It really helps, so I should keep doing it

10. Read 40 books. I read 31 books in 2014. 25 was my goal so I did very well. This is this year”s list. I included some French literature, because I realised when reading Paris Retour by Bart Van Loo last year that I have read way too few French books. Then I also realised I hardly know Japanese literature, so I decided that I would divide my list into 8 x 5 books

Five French: Nana (Emile Zola), Madame Bovary (Flaubert), de Fysiologie van de ambtenaar (Balzac), The devil’s pool (George Sand), The physiology of Marriage (Balzac)
Five English: Ulysses (James Joyce – finish it at last), Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger), Orlando (Virgina Woolf), a room of one’s own (Virginia Woolf) to the Lighthouse (Virginia Woolf)
Five miscellanious: The philosopher’s stone – JK Rowling (in Icelandic), The Cathedral of the Sea (Ildefenso Falcones), Kentering van een huwelijk (Sandor Marai), Three female portaits (Daphne du Maurier), Edda
Five Dutch: Godenslaap (Erwin Mortier), De Kapellekensbaan (Louis Paul Boon), Reus (Annelies Verbeke), Woesten (Kris Van Steenbergen), Het jaar van de kreeft (Hugo Claus)
Five non-fictional: Lucrezia Borgia (Sarah Bradford), David Bowie Inside, De Kracht van het Paradijs (Jonathan Holsslag), In Europa (Geert Mak), De Groote Oorlog (Sophie De Schaepdrijver)
Five Japanese: Kafka on the Shore (Murakami), Amrita (Banana Yoshimoto), The Pillowbook (Sei Shonagon), Kusamakura (Natsume Sōseki) and another one
Five Brönte sisterbooks: The tenant of Wildfell (Anne Bronte), Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte), Villette (Charlotte Bronte), The professor (Charlotte Bronte), Shirley (Charlotte Bronte)
Five Game of Throne books

Leave a Reply

