The 2014 non-New Year’s resolution list


It’s that time of the year again when people start making silly New Year’s resolutions.
“I’m going to stop eating chocolate”
“And I’m going to quit smoking for the 12th time”
“I’m going to do … whatever I have forgotten by the time it ‘s February”

I hate New Year’s resolutions and stopped making them years ago. There is no point in making promises one can ‘t keep. What I did do the past two years, was to make a to do list with ten things I wanted to achieve that year. Fun things. Because it works. No keeping up with cleaning or the laundry or other things I hate. Life is too short to set these things as the main goal in my life 🙂

I did almost 7 things of my 2013 list. I learned how to handle a drilling machine. I started knitting again after 22 years. I visited the David Bowie exposition in London. I even went to more than twelve museums in the past year. I had loads of fun in my garden. Almost nothing died. I enjoyed watching the bumblebees having fun in my raspberry and blueberry bush. My boyfriend often joked when I was looking at my garden (again):”Darling, your plants haven’t grown during the past five minutes.” I watched loads of old movies. Audrey Hepburn, Clark Gable … I just love the innocence of those films …

I read 23 books, which means I haven’t reached that goal completely. But I read more books than in 2012. What I didn’t do was having dinner at Roger Van Damme’s. Neither did I have the time and the energy to learn Icelandic or to blog as much as I had planned to. So I will put the latter on my list again. But the absolute nr. 1 in 2014 is … tatatata …

1. Getting married. Obviously this is the most important thing this year. In my head and on my Pinterest boards it’s more than amazing and bedazzling. It looks like the party in the Great Gatsby: glitter, fire works, loads of people having fun, me being the absolute star of the day … I am going to rise and shine, that’s for sure hahaha

2. Blog more. In 2013 I often didn’t have the energy to write after work due to a number of circumstances. But I still love writing, so I want to blog more again. About the wedding, about my travels, about my little trips … That’s why I also plan a …

3. Little blog project: visit twelve Belgian cities one would normally not visit. To boldly go where no one wants to go. To cities with a bad or a boring reputation. My friend Rein and I already spent a fun day in Bergen, the city of our prime minister. It was my French friend Cecil who gave me the idea. She was very enthusiastic about Kortrijk, a city that doesn’t appeal at all to me. Her story and adventure made me want to visit it after all. Other possibilities: Tienen, Aarschot, Aalst, Genk, Turnhout, Herentals, Liège, Arlon, Charleroi, Eupen. Somehow I think I might continue this series in 2015.

4. Read 25 books. I probably won’t stick to the list, as usual. The Game of Thrones books are my favourite Christmas present. They are trying to seduce me all the time: “Read us, read us …” But I have to be severe: I am not allowed to read them until I have finished the five books that I am reading at the moment, among which the first three classics … Last year I had a lot of fun rereading the Jane Austen back catalogue, so in 2014 it will be Brontë sisters all over again.

Divine Comedy (Dante)
Don Quixote (Cervantes)
Ulysses (James Joyce – finish it at least)
The philosopher’s stone – JK Rowling (in Icelandic)
The Picture of Dorian Gray (Oscar Wilde)
Sweet Tooth (Ian McEwen)
Three female portaits (Daphne du Maurier)
Godenslaap (Erwin Mortier)
The Cathedral of the Sea (Ildefenso Falcones)
The Popes (John Julius Norwich)
Lucrezia Borgia (Sarah Bradford)
To kill a mockingbird (Harper Lee)
The bell jar (Sylvia Plath)
De Kapellensbaan (Louis Paul Boon)
All 6 Game of Thrones books
The tenant of Wildfell hall (Anne Bronte)
Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
Villette (Charlotte Bronte)
The professor (Charlotte Bronte)
Shirley (Charlotte Bronte)

5. Finish the garden and the attic. The garden is almost finished. We had to take down our tree, so that’s why I didn’t do all the things I wanted to do last year. I still need to paint the concrete panels. I think I want to put roses in front of them. Then the only place left in our house to tackle is the attic. It will be my room/office so it may be nice to finally do that.

6. Travel outside Europe. I have never been outside Europe, even though I want to go to so many places. Yet there was always a good reason not to. But our honeymoon is a nice opportunity to change that. At the moment we are thinking of Vancouver, Seattle, Alaska … We’ll see 🙂

7. Have dinner at a Michelin star restaurant.

8. 6 DIY projects. It probably will involve making a lot of wedding decoration this year.

9. Watch 5 famous film series. I often notice that my knowledge about movies is kind of poor, especially Star Wars, The Godfather, James Bond … I also want to watch Lord of the Rings again.

10. Start doing yoga. I’d never thought I would put something sports like on my list. But I actually enjoyed this during our sports day. Too be bad for me I promised in my article about my day then that I would start yoga. It was the only ending that worked … So I don’t have a choice anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

