My week in pictures and a video #2


My dear mister Bowie turned 66 and celebrated it with a new nostalgic song about one of my favourite cities, Berlin. His voice has changed a little, but I’m really curious how the other 28 songs will sound.

Rummaging through some stuff in the attic, I found this sweet memory back:

david bowie concert 2003
david bowie concert 2003

I was 22 at the time and I just knew his hits. His show made  a huge impression on me. Later, when I was 25, his music started to grow on me. I have hoped for another concert ever since, so I was slightly disappointed when I read that there will be no tour, just concerts in maybe London or New York if he feels like it. But you can’t blame mister Bowie for it. No matter what he does, I can’t but adore him.

Winter finally found its way to Belgium

snow
snow

This guy wasn’t cold at all

guy in shorts while freezing outside
guy in shorts while freezing outside

And I made this beef tagine with beetroot and oranges. I just love the colour of this dish.

beef tajine
beef tagine

Some people asked for the recipe.

1 à 2 tbsp olive oil (the book suggests ghee but I didn’t have this)
3 à 4 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 red onion, sliced
40 gr fresh ginger, grated
1 red chili, chopped (but I used chili flakes)
2 tsp coriander seed
2 cinnamon sticks
3 à 4 beetroot, chopped in chunks (book says to cut them in 4, but I cut them in 8)
500 gr beef meat, chopped
2 oranges, chopped
1 tbsp dark fluid honey
1 à 2 tbsp orange blossom water
salt
black pepper
Butter
2 à 3 tbsp pistachios
Parsley

Heat the olive oil in a tagine. Fry the garlic, onion and ginger. Add the spices. Add the beetroot and fry 2-3 minutes. Add the meat and bake 1 minute. Add water until the meat and the beetroot are under water. Bring to a boil. Lower the heat, put the lid on the tagine and let simmer. The recipe says 1 hour, but I think 2 hours would be much better. Now the sauce is still very watery.

Add the oranges, honey and orange blossom water, as well as salt and pepper (taste!). Put the lid on again and let simmer for another 15 minutes.

Melt the butter and roast the pistachios. Put them on top of the tagine as well as the parsley.

withered daffodil
withered daffodil

And at last: my daffodil started to grow in December and is withered by now…

Leave a Reply

