Becoming a perfect housewife … ahum …


Last December I made up a list of things I want to do in 2012. I also decided that I am going to write a monthly blog post about the progress ánd the awesome things I did during that month.

Well, as I have been rather busy the past two months, I thought it might be a good idea to combine February and March in one blog post. Somehow these two months always go by unnoticed in my life. I’m wondering why … Perhaps because there are no festive holidays, and no birthdays to celebrate in the family. This is kind of exceptional. Yet my pocket diary tells me we did loads of things: visiting museums, dinner with friends, going out … Or is it the dreary weather and the dark days that evoke my general february-march feeling?

I did do a couple of things of my 2012 list. I managed to make cupcakes which were approved of by my boyfriend. Visually. They looked as if I could start my own little bakery 🙂

BanoffeeTiramisu cupcake

The green ones were banoffee, with dulce de leche on top, the yellow ones were rose scented ans the red ones were tiramisu, all inspired by the Hummingbird bakery cookbook. It made me want to go to London again. Sometimes I think my travels are guided by food. I go to London for Hummingbird cupcakes and tea and hot chocolate of Whittard of Chelsea, Twinings, Harrods, to Paris for Pierre Hermé macarons, to Berlin for decent Chai Lattes, to Ferrara for pumpkin ravioli and to Trastevere in Rome for Fior de Luna’s icecream. Well vintage shops are another reason to go to Berlin, London and Paris of course.

I can strike one thing off the list. I’m going to a Radiohead in October. Berlin was sold out by the time I found an affordable flight, but luckily they’re heading for Antwerp. I was so happy, because it has been three or four years now since I last saw them. I also have tickets for Florence and the Machine. I never managed to see her before but here we are. There’s only one artist now I want to see before he dies and that’s Tom Waits. Hopefully he’s heading to Europe once more …

I read quite a lot already during those ice-cold February, but not everything was on my list. I enjoy discovering American literature. I somehow was a bit prejudiced, even though I like Kerouac’s On the road a lot. So far I read Of Mice and Men (John Steinbeck), Slaughterhouse 5 (Kurt Vonnegut) and
Post Office (Charles Bukowski). The other books I read are Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen), Emma (Jane Austen), Norwegian Wood (Haruki Murakami), A History of the World in 10 1 / 2 chapters (Julian Barnes) and Parisian Chic. I also read Mansfield park and some style guide called How to be adored. I have also started the Divine Comedy, but I’m not really advancing … It’s a tough style and you really need to read all the comments …

Our garden is coming along really nicely. I started to grow vegetables and herbs in garden pots. Our peas are doing so well as well as our lettuce. We also bought raspberry and blueberry. I’m so looking forward to the summer to make raspberry chocolate tarts and blueberry muffins. Oops food again …

I visited my two monthly exhibitions. It were two good ones. I went to see the Kirkeby exposition in Bozar. Per Kirkeby is a Danish painter as well as a poet, a sculptor and an architect. Being a geologist, landscapes are an important theme in his paintings. I had never heard of him before but I really liked the way he tells stories in his paintings. At first sight his paintings often look like a bunch of paint, but at second glance you start seeing loads of things.

We also went to the Gallo-Roman Museum in Tongeren which has dramatically changed since all of us visited it during secondary school. I love the way they staged the Sagalassos exhibition. They didn’t have that my artefact but the dramatic modern staging was something that totally wawed me!

Leave a Reply

