De Nachten


Yesterday I was at the Nachten in Antwerpen. I just love this festival. Nonetheless the last time I was there, was 8 years ago. The combination of literature and Duystermusic in a beautiful building is just awesome.

[For my foreign friends, Duyster is radioprogram where a lot of cool music is played (think Bonnie Prince Billie, múm, Fleet Foxes, Sigur Rós, Godspeed you black emperor, My Morning Jacket, Bon Iver …).]

De Nachten also had FM Belfast, still one of my favourites. Utter delight, of course. They were struggling to get people to dance (not me, I was dancing in the front row almost from the beginning till the end). And it wasn’t their fault. Oh, this tendancy around here to not to be able to let go. Just dance and have fun! Some people even refused to squat when everyone else was squatting. Or how to make a fool of yourself when trying not to make a fool of yourself. But then again, the crowd that visits the Nachten isn’t probably a party crowd, but the sort of people who like to talk in pubs

But anyway I had a good time. I’m really looking forward to the new cd. ‘I don’t want to go to sleep either’ is an instant hit at concerts and parties. It has been stuck in my head for the whole day. And I just loved the classics yesterday: Par avion and Underwear.

I also finally saw Amatorski. The singer is still very shy but their performance was really good. I wasn’t entirely convinced by Balthazar but i should check it out more. What I did love was the bookshop where writers were reading stuff. Maybe I’ll go again next year. Hint for the organisers: book Hellvar 🙂

Leave a Reply

